Skip to content

User Guide

Quick start with SenseOps!!!

This guide will let you know to understand the features can be performed in the SenseOps.

○ Adding assets of Projects & Repositories.
○ Cloning from the Repository.
○ Commit the changes.
○ Compare the Versions.
○ Merge changes for repository.
○ Comparision between the changes.
○ Merge request Approval or Reject.

Adding assets of Projects & Repositories.

To create the assets in SenseOps, needs to login to the portal and create the projects and repositories.

Login Page

Once you have connected to the SenseOps URL, login information to be provided to login into SenseOps. Screenshot Once you are logged in, page would be landed in the Projects page.


Projects

Group of repositories handled in the Projects.

While creating project two types of users can assigned to the Project. One, who is "Admin", having the complete access to entire project and another user who have the "Read/Write" access with the Project. But "Read/Write" type user can create the repositotries and collaborate with teams.

Screenshot

  1. To create the new project, click on "New Project" then pop-up screen would open to capture project name & project description.

  2. Select the assign users to allocate the access of the project where we can provide "Admin" with full access or "Read/Write" access.

  3. The respective owner of the project can do delete or edit the project.

Screenshot


Repositories

Repositories are the collection of files of various different versions of a Project. These files are imported from the repository into the local server of the user for further updations and modifications in the content of the file. SenseOps is used to create these versions and store them in a specific place termed as repository.

To create the new repository file, Click on "New Repository" button. Screenshot Once Clicked on the button you will be seeing the below screen of to select the "For Qlik Sense Application", "For InfoXD Solution", "For Extension/Mash-up". Screenshot • For Qlik Sense application - To manage Qlik Sense metadata files.
• For InfoXD application - To manage the InfoXD deployment files.
• For Extension/Mashup - To manage with the extension & mash-up deployment files.

Create New Repository for Qlik Sense metadata files. Screenshot
All the details to be mandatory to create the new repository, we need to select the Project which we created earlier, Qlik sense details of server & Repository source & Repository description to be entered. Screenshot

Once we have created the repositories, we can have the below features. Screenshot

Cloning from the Repository

Primarily used to point to an existing repo and make a clone or copy of that repo at in a new directory, at another location. The original repository can be located on the local filesystem.

To Clone from the repository, click on the "Clone" and do select the existing branch or new branch to get the app details. Screenshot

Once Cloning is completed, we need to select the repository name to get the cloned details. All the branch name details would be shown in the "All Branches" dropdown. Screenshot

To work on the cloned details, select the cloned app details row and Click on the "Open App" to edit. Screenshot

Now we can see the relevant app details opened for edit. Once we are done with the modification and now we are good to commit the changes. Screenshot

Commit the changes

Any assets you add to the projects remain in your local copy of the project until you commit and push the changes to the repository. Screenshot

After clicking of the "Commit" below screen would poped-up to enter the commit related description. This description would be the tracking comments of the every version/commit. Screenshot

Compare the Versions

There is a option to compare the versions in the repository for that you have to select and click on the Compare option. Screenshot

And do select the Versions which have to compare and Click on the Compare Button. Screenshot

It will open the comparison screen as shown below, now click on the dropdown icon to see the changes in both versions. If you have to see which line the code is added or removed, you need to click on the Info icon present on the top right side of the objects. Screenshot

It will open the compare popup screen where you can see all the green colors are added and red colors are removed lines in the versions.
Screenshot

There is a dropdown to change the version in the compare screen as shown below. Screenshot

Merge the changes

Once we committed the changes and application is ready for the final version to merge, go to repoitory and select the repository name, click on "Request Merge". Screenshot

Now we need to select the current branch related commited items and final merge would happened in the master branch. Once we entered the description and clicked on the "Request Merge" approval request would be initiated to the Owner of the Project. Screenshot

Requested changes will be sent for the approval and details would be shown in the "Merge Request" Tab. Screenshot

Merge Request Approval or Reject

The Project owner would receive the notification for the approval, and notification would be showing as below screenshot. Screenshot

When we click on the notification message, new screen would populate with the approval screen, and comparison would show the app related entire details. Screenshot

Manager can approve or reject the merge changes, Once he approved latest changes would be applied in the master branch, if he rejects the change, developer needs to check and revert the modifications.

In the merge request, if the same data have the two different code change,then manager needs to select which change needs to be merged. While merging the code changes, manager has to approve the all details from the application(For ex. Dimension, measures, App Properties,etc).

Based on the selection application would be merged with the earliest changes. Screenshot

When manager approving the changes, user will be seeing the pop-up message of below. Screenshot

While rejecting the request, manager needs to provide the reason for rejection. Screenshot

Jobs & Packages

Jobs

Jobs are the deployment or movement to environment, where we can configure the desination environment and repository set-up. Screenshot To create jobs, click on the "New Job" when screen would show and below are the details to be filled in the stream.

 • Job Name - Job Description to be filled.</br>
 • Select Repository - SenseOps repository which we have created earlier.</br>
 • Select Destination Server - Qlik destination server.</br>
 • This is the first movement - If this is first movement, needs to select the "Select Stream".

Screenshot

Screenshot When we run the jobs, new deployment file would be deployed in the configured environment. If required we can able to reload the Qlik app by using "App Reload" option. Screenshot If developer wants to rollback the deployment file, the previous version needs to be selected in the rollback screen and using "App Reload" application can be reloaded at the time of roll back. Screenshot

Packages

Packages are the group of jobs configured and can be executed at the same time.

To create packages click on the "New Packages" and once the package screen is opened need to enter the Package Name & to "select the Jobs" which are listed in the data. Then click on the "Create Packages". Screenshot

Once the packages is created, we have the option to run the Packages, When we select the run the jobs will be started simultaneously. Screenshot Screenshot

Click on refresh icon to see the Package movement history. Screenshot If we want to revert the changes we have a option to rollback the deployment. Screenshot

Notifications

Merge request and merge approval would be received as an alert. If user has received any alert, notification icon would be highlighted. When user clicks on the notification icon message would appeared and click the notified message to redirect to the respective screen. Screenshot